TransUnion

  Online Consumer Dispute Service


Disputes

Our goal is to maintain accurate information on your TransUnion credit report. By law, TransUnion is obligated to verify the accuracy of the information on a credit report that you dispute. If you do not recognize information on your credit report, or believe an item may be inaccurate, you may request an investigation. Only inaccurate information may be removed; negative information that is accurate will stay on your credit report as long as the governing laws allow. Changes on your credit report that occur as the result of an investigation will be made on both your consumer disclosure and your credit report.

TransUnion provides this service to you free of charge, in accordance with applicable legislation. TransUnion will not provide any additional services or treat a consumer differently due to the fact that the consumer has retained and paid a credit repair company. Whether you launch a dispute yourself or through a credit repair company, the outcome of the investigation will be the same. Please also note that the activities of credit repair companies are regulated in some provinces. For more information, please visit Consumer Protection.

Dispute any inaccurate credit or personal information on your credit report Online:

How long does certain information remain on my file? Click here for details: www.transunion.ca/credit-report


What you need:

Before starting, please make sure you have all of the necessary information on hand:

  • Full Name
  • Current Address
  • Date of birth
  • Social Insurance Number (optional)
  • Telephone number
  • Reason for your dispute (e.g., you have paid the account, etc.)
  • Documentation to support the amendment you have requested. If the amendments are to your personal information (e.g. name), please have supporting identification documentation available, such as change of name certificate, marriage certificate, etc.

What happens after a dispute has been filed?

At your request, TransUnion will verify any credit information disputed by you. In order to complete this request, we contact the organization reporting the information and verify its accuracy. We recommend that you not apply for credit while a dispute is pending.

Wait for the Results:

TransUnion documents the outcome of the investigation and makes any necessary changes to your credit report.

Getting your responses or update:

Investigations are typically concluded within 30 days of the date we receive your request. If we cannot verify the disputed information, the item is removed from your credit report or updated as requested. We notify the companies that have made a recent inquiry to your file that an amendment was made and we send you notice at the conclusion of the investigation.

TransUnion

  Service de règlement des différends en ligne


Contestations

Notre objectif est de nous assurer de l'exactitude des renseignements que contient votre fiche de crédit TransUnion. En vertu de la loi, TransUnion est obligée de vérifier l'exactitude des renseignements contenus dans une fiche de crédit que vous contestez. Si vous ne reconnaissez pas des renseignements dans votre fiche de crédit ou que vous croyez qu'un élément est inexact, vous pouvez demander une enquête. Seuls les renseignements inexacts peuvent être supprimés; les renseignements négatifs qui sont exacts resteront dans votre fiche de crédit aussi longtemps que les lois applicables le permettent. Les modifications apportées à votre fiche de crédit suivant une enquête le seront également dans sa version consommateur.

TransUnion vous fournit ce service sans frais, conformément à la législation en vigueur. TransUnion ne fournira aucun service supplémentaire ni ne traitera un consommateur différemment advenant que ce dernier ait retenu les services d'une société de redressement de crédit et payé celle-ci. Que vous amorciez une contestation vous-même ou par l'intermédiaire d'une société de redressement de crédit, le résultat de l'enquête sera le même. Veuillez également noter que les activités des sociétés de redressement de crédit sont réglementées dans certaines provinces. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter Protection des consommateurs.

Comment contester des renseignements de crédit ou personnels dans votre fiche de crédit en ligne

Combien de temps les renseignements demeurent-ils dans ma fiche de crédit? Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements à ce sujet, veuillez cliquer ici: https://www.transunion.ca/fr/product/dossier-de-credit


Ce dont vous avez besoin:

Avant de commencer, assurez-vous d'avoir sous la main tous les renseignements nécessaires:

  • Votre nom complet
  • Votre adresse actuelle
  • Votre date de naissance
  • Votre numéro d'assurance sociale (facultatif)
  • Votre numéro de téléphone
  • Le motif de votre contestation (vous avez payé le compte, etc.)
  • Les documents à l'appui de la modification que vous demandez. Si les modifications à apporter visent vos renseignements personnels (nom, etc.), vous devez avoir les documents d'identification requis à l'appui (certificat de changement de nom, certificat de mariage, etc.).

Qu'arrive-t-il après le dépôt d'une contestation?

À votre demande, TransUnion vérifiera tous les renseignements sur le crédit que vous contestez. Pour traiter cette demande, nous communiquons avec l'organisation responsable de la diffusion de ces renseignements et nous vérifions leur exactitude. Nous vous recommandons de ne pas faire de demandes de crédit pendant que votre contestation est en instance.

Attendez les résultats:

TransUnion documentera les résultats de l'enquête et apportera les changements nécessaires à votre fiche de crédit.

Obtenez votre réponse ou votre mise à jour:

Le résultat d'une enquête est habituellement connu à l'intérieur de 30 jours suivant la date à laquelle la contestation a été reçue. Si nous ne pouvons vérifier les renseignements contestés, l'élément est supprimé de votre fiche de crédit ou mis à jour comme demandé. Nous informons les entreprises qui ont enquêté récemment dans votre fiche qu'une modification a été apportée et nous vous envoyons un avis à la fin de l'enquête.